The Essential Gaming Podcasts

Spending the better part of 15 hours a week commuting, I listen to a lot of podcasts. Most of these are gaming related, so I thought I’d give you some impressions and recommendations for your listening pleasure.

See the list inside.

Taste is subjective, and depending on your platform of choice, you may want to skip a few of these feeds entirely. We have chosen not to include our own Drunken Monkey Tech, because it would be a little weird talking ourselves up, and we’ve also left off the excellent Red Rant because it is not always gaming focused.

 1Up Yours

The Up Yours hosts typically have good information, occaisionally break some news, and are almost always entertaining. If they could get past their ‘musical hosts’ problem (almost once a month someone seems to leave the team and needs replacing) and they could refrain from teasing stories they can’t talk about because it’s under embargo, this could be the perfect gaming ‘cast.

Games For Windows Radio

I can admit it: I’m not much of a PC gamer. That being said, this PC focused podcast is still worth a listen. Absolutely entertaining, wildly off-topic and off-color, I find that I just like the hosts more than most shows. Who cares if PC gaming doesn’t turn you on, give it a listen.

My only worry is that with the recent demise of Games For Windows Magazine (gee, thanks for changing my subscription to PC Gamer… that’s some mighty expensive toilet paper) could this podcast be far behind? I hope not.

IGN Games

The nice thing about IGN’s podcasts is that they have a program for every fanboy… err… console owner. If you’re a fan of a particular machine, you can find news and discussion without all the background noise about gaming rigs you don’t own. Top that off with a podcast that deals with gaming in general (GameScoop), and the availability of ALL their programs in a single feed, you get a winning combo. 

Joystiq Podcast

This program at it’s best when they aren’t talking about games; living in South Africa with Ludwig and Justin’s undying love of Blueberry Muffin Top Cereal. Now, if we can only get them to fix their RSS feed so it has dates listed (seriously guys, drop me an email and I’ll show you how to fix it).

Video Game Outsiders

At first blush, you may wonder why I listen to this podcast. I think co-host Michelle Madison is annoying, frequently misinformed, and more than a little condescending. Kyle Jones appears uninvolved most of the time (although he has been getting better the last month or so), and I’m a little tired of hearing about World of Warcraft tips.

John ‘Blackdog’ Jakobson (when he’s not attempting prank calls) is what keeps me coming back. Exhuberent, irreverent, and personable, his ‘I am a gamer, not in the industry’ attitude keeps me listening.

Check it out.

Matt Ellis is the co-founder of Bag Of Mad Bastards, outspoken co-host of the podcasts B!tch Sl@p and Drunken Monkey Tech, and almost always has a set of headphones on. He can be reached at: matt@bagofmadbastards.com .

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment