MMO Player With No Laptop

Are you a WoW (World of Warcraft), GW (Guild Wars), or other MMO (massive Multiplayer Online) gamer without a laptop? Don’t want to drag your computer around with you to play your favorite game? After some research, I’ve found the perfect solution.

Check the other side for the awesomeness.


Anyone who knows me should know that I am a serious WoW player. The only downside (as I see it) is I don’t have a laptop, and when over at Matt’s for football/NASCAR, if I want to get a fix for my game addiction, I need to borrow a laptop or drag my massive PC over.

The big problem with that is taking all my PC stuff, or installing the game on a laptop that is not mine. Not to mention, the patches are murder to download in a timely fashion.

I decided to check out a theory.

Ali got me a 4 gig Sandisk USB flash drive, 4gigand today I picked up a 16 gig 16gof the same brand. I took the time to copy over my WoW folder from my C:/ drive to my 16 gig drive, and moved my GW folder onto my 4 gig drive.  One good thing about MMOs are that they don’t require any disks or anyentries in the registry of the operation system that you are running.

You can just copy the game from one drive to another with no problem.

Next step was to pop the drives into Ali’s laptop and see if I could play them from the flash drives. BAM! It worked! WoW ran flawlessly and GW just as good. In fact both games ran better from a flash drivet than from a HDD in the laptop. One thing to note is if you put the flash drive in a USB 1.0 or 1.1  slot it will work, just not as well.

So if you are looking for an easy way to carry your MMO around with you, grab a flash drive and copy your files over so you can use a friends computer and not take up their drive space.

Edit:2-3-09 I also found that installing Ventrillo directly onto the flash drive works as well, if you are a hardcore raider like me than you probably use vent for comunication. I will be trying TeamSpeak soon and update my findings.

4 Comments

  1. Nice one, I didnt realise you would be able to do this. Thanks for the heads up, Im always WoWless when I visit the folks but this is a viable option.

  2. I am pretty sure you could do the same with DDO/LOTRO since it drops no registry entries during installation.

  3. I am amazed with it. It is a good thing for my research. i have a blog about laptops too, please come visit my site when u have time ^_^

  4. Hey I want to download wow without any expantions how big of a flashdrive would that be and also would it be easier to use external hard drive


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

