In Case You Missed It: Bejeweled 2

bejeweledlogo1

Popcap owes me. They owe me BIG.

They are single-handedly responsible for countless lost hours of productivity, sleepless nights, and eye strain.

Hi, my name is Matt, and I am a Bejeweled addict. (Hi Matt!)

Just when I thought I had kicked the habit, Bejeweled 2 was released on Playstation 3. Since we’ve never covered Bejeweled, I thought it was an opportune time to give it some real estate on the site.

Was I strong? Was I able to walk away? Is this too many question marks for one line of text?

In case there are any of you who have never played a Bejeweled game before (I can’t imagine there’s many of you), I’m going to give you a rundown.

Multi-colored gems fill your screen, and it’s your job to clear them out by placing three (or more) of the same color in a row. You can move gem positions by swapping two gems, but ONLY if that move will create a set of three in a row. When you clear a set, more gems fall on screen to replace them.

Depending on which game type you’re playing, this can literally go on forever (Endless Mode), until a timer runs out, or until you run out of moves you can make.

And that’s the basic Bejeweled game experience.

Bejeweled 2 adds more modes than the original, exploding gems (created when you get four in a row), hypergems (created when you get five in a row, and will vaporize all gems of a single color), and a creepy narrator.

I’ve played this game on Palm Pilot, on Mobile Phones, as a Flash game, and on XBox 360. While the Palm version was my favorite (stylus control of the gems is MUCH faster than using buttons or a mouse), I would have to say that the PS3 version is a close second.

How can I qualify that when it’s essentially the same game on XBox 360?

Easy: the D-Pad works.

I know it’s cliche, and you’re tired of hearing it, but the XBox 360 D-Pad is flat out unusable. Although this game is available on multiple platforms, and it IS essentially the same game no matter which flavor of hardware you’re using, the only version I can’t recommend is the XBox release.

This is a welcome addition to my PS3 downloadables, and although I’ve already spent more time playing it than is healthy… I’ll keep coming back.

If you’re remotely interested in addictive casual games, you can’t do much better than this… buy it, and say goodbye to your loved ones.

If you already like Bejeweled (1 and/or 2), but you’re ready to try something a little different, I suggest adding a little Role Playing to the puzzle experience:

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords (Nintendo DS)

Puzzle Quest: Challenge Of The Warlords (PS2)

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords (PSP)

Puzzle Quest: Challenge Of The Warlords (Wii)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

