Hardware Review: World Of Warcraft Gaming Mouse

wowmouseThe Hardcore MMO players are always getting some new crazy keyboard or mouse to try and make their life just a little easier. Does the WoW Gaming Mouse from Steelseries hold up? Find out on the other side.

This bad boy was co-designed specifically for World of Warcraft by Blizzard and SteelSeries.
you can…

  • Assign World of Warcraft commands to the buttons
  • Make custom Macros
  • Adjust DPI and standard mouse settings
  • Adjust illumination color, effects, and intensity
  • Independently adjust x and y axis sensitivity
  • Real time profile switching

First thing I noticed about this mouse was it is WAY lighter than it looks. Also it is a little bigger than I thought it would be.

After unpacking it I found that I needed to go to the website to download the software to run the profile system.  The download was very fast and so was the install.  Next in line I boot up the program and it looks a lot like the the WoW interface, guess i shouldn’t be surprised since Blizzard helped.

In the interface I input my my characters name and server and the mouse will know when I start the game what profile to load up. The interface can hold 10 profiles, and all the buttons are right there to program to what you want to them to be. interface1
The left side of the interface is your mouse properties, scroll speed, double click speed, etc. The right side is your button assignments, DPI settings, and Custom macro settings. The bottom is the Illumination panel that you change the color, intensity, and pulsation settings.

mtop

Once everything was plugged in where I wanted it I loaded up WoW and could help but notice how smooth the mouse glides on my table. Looking at the bottom instead of the three or four little plastic pads for it to glide on there are three large ones on this mouse. One across the entire front of the mouse and two massive ones that almost take up the entire sides and link in the back.

mleft

Out of the 15 buttons on the mouse the default settings are very close to the way I would have set it up, so I just changed a few. For my first time playing WoW with this mouse was a raid night for me and I could not have been happier with the results.

mright

With the ability to use the focus target button I have set up and the assist target it helped a ton. I was hoping that the mouse would automatically load the profile for what ever character I pick when I play the game but it appears not. You have to go to the running program in your tool bar and choose what profile you want. Not a big deal just one extra step.

mlight

If you are a Serious WoW end game raider then I highly suggest you pick up this mouse when you can find one. And you can do that with the following link.
Buy SteelSeries Special-Edition World of Warcraft Mouse

If you have no idea what I just said above than its no big deal just stick with what you have.

Joshua Shelton is a co-founder and Senior Editor for Bag Of Mad Bastards. He enjoys snowboarding, mountain biking, and going for that next platinum trophy.

2 Comments

  1. My friend Arnold has a rogue and he just leveled insanely
    fast. If you were to wander around such an area you would only waste a lot
    of time and not advance at all. There is plenty of information on the net, in the form of
    guides, tips, how-to videos, walkthroughs, and so forth, but much of the info is pretty much the same.

  2. An excellent update, & one that players just like
    me welcome daay inn andd month out!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

