Ready! Fire! Aim! Sony Lowers Price Of PS2!

shootfoot

On Monday, Sony let everyone know that they were going to make a ‘big announcement’ on Tuesday. I guess that’s a ‘pre-announcement’ announcement.

The big news? The Playstation 2 has dropped to $99!

Yeah, I’m underwhelmed too. It’s not that big of a deal… it’s hardware from the last console cycle, and let’s face it, you probably already own one.

Not that I’m going to tell anyone what price point works best for their product, but when EVERYONE seems to be pushing for a price cut on the PS3, and you announce that you’re going to make a big announcement, what conclusion do you think everyone is going to jump to?

Yep, it’s a Public Relations gaffe… again.

I’m not privy to Sony’s internal financial numbers, so I can’t say a PS3 price cut would be possible at this point (and it annoys me that a lot of people seems to think they are SCEA’s CFO). What I DO know is that this is hardly worthy of a ‘special announcement’, and it makes your PR firm look out of touch.

Like, basement-dwelling-nerd-takes-his-imaginary-friend-to-dinner out of touch.

Some free advice: Next time, maybe just do it… don’t make a big deal out of nothing.

1 Comment

  1. took me a few minutes to get that picture. Then I laughed


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

