Product Review: Shadow Wireless Controller (PS3)

shadowboxI rarely purchase  third party controllers as I have had bad luck in the past. Usually they are poorly made,  lack features, or tack on some gimmick that either doesn’t work or you probably won’t use. I saw this and decided to check it out…. Think you will be surprised with the result.

When I first saw the Shadow Wireless controller from DreamGear, It really didn’t register with me that it was the first one that I have seen (there may be others) that repositioned the analog sticks to mimic the layout of the XBOX 360 analog sticks. I like the position of them and grew fond of them while I waited patiently for the PS3 to be released.

In the past, third party controllers typically use batteries and I grew tired of them being dead when I am in the middle of gaming and I have to make the “which remote/device can I steal them from” decision. This one sports an internal battery similar to the Sony controller and uses the same mini usb cable connection to charge. So that was a bonus. Dual shock is present and works well enough and they have modified the L2 and R2 buttons to have a bit more of a curve to them so your fingers don’t slip off.  It also sports a soft rubberized surface which is actually nice and not that sticky weird feeling that some have, you know, like the Wii remote covers.

Problems with responsiveness in games is another typical issue that I’ve run into in the past. I am happy to report that there seems to be none with this controller and I am very please with how it performs. So far so good eh?

There has to be something annoying or wrong with it right? Well, it does use a dongle and I am pretty anti-dongle (insert joke or something witty here) so that in itself introduces one annoyance. That is the ability to turn on your PS3 with the controller, not a huge deal to me cause I usually have to walk up to it to insert a game anyway. The only serious problem that I have encountered so far would be the lack of Motion support like the Six Axis. This is not too bad except if you are playing a game that heavily relies on it, like Flower or Flow. I should try Killzone 2 to see how it reacts in it as I am not sure there is an option to turn off the use of Motion controls in that title. 

It is fairly inexpensive and if you like the layout of the 360’s controller or just having problems adjusting to the PS3 layout, it is definitely worth a look. It’s also worth noting that the weight and size is similar to the PS3 Dual Shock 3 controller.

LINKS

PS3 Shadow Wireless Controller with Rumble

Brian Ellis is a co-founder and senior editor of Bag of Mad Bastards and co-host of Drunken Monkey Tech podcast found here. He can be reached at brian@bagofmadbastards.com if you have questions/comments

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

