Product Review: Nikon Coolpix S210

coolpixI recently decided it was time for me to upgrade my digital camera. While I still love my Pentax Optio, it is getting a little outdated. So after a bit of shopping around, I decided on the Nikon Coolpix S210. The camera comes in Plum, Graphite Black, Cool Blue, and Brushed Bronze. Since there wasn’t any other colors in stock when I bought it, I went with the Plum. Did I end up enjoying my purchase or did I have buyer’s remorse? Keep reading to find out.

When I first started looking at cameras, I had a list of things that I wanted. First priority for me was the brand. My personal preference for digital cameras leans toward Nikon, Sony, and Pentax. Not that others are bad, I’ve just had better experience with these three brands.

My next priority was price. Looking at similar cameras in my price range, the three brands were really close in price to each other (ranging between $129 and $180). I lucked out and found the Nikon on sale for about $70 off so it was an easy choice for me.

The next item on my list was the size. My previous camera wasn’t really a large camera, but it was somewhat bulky and difficult to carry around. The Nikon Coolpix S210 is really small in comparison. At 3.5 x 0.8 x 2.2 inches, the camera is small enough to fit in my pocket. In fact, it fits in my pocket better than my phone does at times, which is really nice for those times when I don’t want to carry a bag around or have the camera swinging from my arm or hand. I was even able to take the camera on a hike with me without it getting in my way.

Other features the camera has include:

  • 8.1-megapixel resolution
  • 3x optical zoom
  • Electronic VR image stabilization that produce blur-free images when shooting in unsteady conditions or at slower shutter speeds (this does not work with flash on)
  • 2.5-inch, high-resolution LCD
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix
  • Enhanced Face-Priority AF automatically focuses on up to 12 faces

 So was the camera worth the price? Or was I left wanting more? I am actually really enjoying this camera. It turns on and off really fast and takes really sharp photos. This was really nice for taking pictures of things while hiking, and then moving on. While the camera is nice, it does have some downsides. It’s a little difficult to switch between the various modes, as you have to go into the menu system rather than just turning a dial like on most other cameras. Also, it does occasionally try to focus on things other than what you want it to focus on. Overall though, I was impressed with the camera, and I’m glad I got it.

Is this the right camera for you? That depends on what you want in a camera. Make sure you do your research before buying any camera to ensure you get the right camera for you. Below are links to buy the Nikon Coolpix S210 as well as a couple other cameras I looked at while making my decision. Underneath the links are pictures I’ve taken with the Nikon Coolpix S210 to show off the picture quality of the camera.

Nikon Coolpix S210 8MP Digital Camera (Plum)
Pentax Optio W60 Waterproof 10MP Digital Camera (Ocean Blue)
Sony Cybershot DSCS780 8.1MP Digital Camera

ali-tree

ali-lizard

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

