World Of Warcraft: Secrets Of Ulduar Part 1/3 (Raids)

ulduarThis might seem slightly pointless doing a story about this because in most cases you either play WoW and know whats going on, or you don’t play WoW and don’t care about whats going on. Well I feel the need to inform you anyway so check the other side for info, pics, and a video I put together for this first part of the Secrets Of Ulduar, Patch 3.1, for World of Warcraft.

In World of Warcraft there are different types of players and each segment I am going to point out the changes I see affecting each style.

At least this is how I look at them

Raiders / End Game Players
This is your hardcore WoW player, they will spend hours in front of their computer trying to get that next raid boss down and hope that the boss drops the gear they want.
Dungeon Runners
This player is the one that is online almost every day but doesn’t want the commitment of end game raids but still likes the smaller five man Dungeons.
Casual Players
This is the player who is on once or twice a week and is more there because their friends talked them into getting and playing the game and are just messing around with said friends.

End Game Raiders

If I am placed into one of the groups above then End Game Raider I am. So as far as I am concerned this patch was great news. The raid group I run with had Naxxramas (The new big 25 man raid from the launch of Wrath of the Lich King) cleared in the second week of raiding. This means to us that this was WAY to easy. Don’t get me wrong it is nice to have a easy kill here and there but this was a walk in the park.

With the new raid instance Ulduar there are a total of 14 bosses all with a different difficulty setting. Naxxramas has 15 bosses but they do not have a “hard” mode. In the first week of raiding my raid group was able to take out the first five bosses of Ulduar and one of those bosses has only been beat by us. So as far as the instance difficulty it looks like blizzard kicked it up a notch.
ign
The great thing about Ulduar is that it is a compete new experience. The area getting to the first boss all I could here on our voice communications was; “Oh my God, this is SO fun!” With the first boss area you get vehicles and get to drive around blowing the shit out of everything that moves, it is truly great.
bot
Also with this patch Blizzard added Emalon the Storm Watcher in the Vault of Archavon. The Vault of Archavon is a raid instance that only had one boss but now has two. These two bosses are what we like to call in my guild “Loot pinatas” because they are so easy to beat and they only drop the high level gear from Naxxramas and Ulduar.

All in all I think it is safe to say from a raiders stand point that this patch was a great move for Blizzard and from my stand point thank you blizzard! 😉

The Video I have here is from cuts of my recordings for Boss Slayers and shows some of the first bosses in Ulduar.

3 Comments

  1. I love wow! I quit playing after I hit 80 for so long because it took to long to get all my gear and my mount, but my friend showed me his gold making guide and now im obsessed again, the guide made it fun for me. Check it out here. http://tinyurl.com/wowgoldvip

  2. Howdy! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you could have right here on this post.
    I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

