First Look: Fight Night Round 4

Fight_Night_Round_4As the long awaited sequel of EA’s boxing Juggernaut nears, I  was able to spend a little time with the demo. Has EA made improvements in this installment or is it simply a new box and some minor tweaks? Check out my first impressions on the other side….

Fight Night Round 3 to me was  visually appealing, fun to play, and had enough depth to it to keep you coming back for more. There was a very short list of features or enhancements that I wish it had. After playing the Fight Night Round 4 demo, I am happy to report that each of the items on my wish list has been addressed and I simply cannot wait for this title.

Mike Tyson…  Say what you will about him and his mental state and assorted indiscretions  but  few men in the ring were as intimidating and brutal as he was.

Visually, FNR4 is on par with FNR3 and maybe even a little crisper that it’s predecessor. Not a bad thing at all, looks great and all the nice rippling effects from pummeling an opponents face is still there in all it’s glory.

The first item that they addressed on my wish list was that you no longer have to hold a button for all body punches. Instead, you simply use the right stick as usual but the bottom half is now used for the body shots, with the exception of a hook to the body which still requires a button to be pressed.

The ability to now “bob and weave” with the left stick in similar fashion as punching adds a new element to the game and should make bouts against human opponents even more challenging.  Speaking of multiplayer, the feature list now in the demo shows off the ability to setup tournaments online. A feature that we at B.O.M.B. have wanted so badly.

I always loved creating a character in a game, especially if it allowed me to use my camera and put myself into the game. From what it looks like in the new feature list video at the beginning, you will be able to do this and share it online so your rivals can have the satisfaction of messing up your pretty face. I for one can’t wait to wail on Fury.

The speed of the game is much improved thanks to the increased framerate. It takes a bit to get used to but it does make for very smooth gameplay.  Overall, I am very excited for this title to come out on June 30th and I cannot wait start working my way up the ranks.  Even though this is only a demo, I truly believe that EA has outdone themselves this time and it is going to be well worth the wait.

Fight Night: Round 4 Xbox 360

Fight Night: Round 4 PS3

Brian Ellis is a co-founder and senior editor of Bag of Mad Bastards and co-host of Drunken Monkey Tech podcast found here. He can be reached at brian@bagofmadbastards.com if you have questions/comments.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

