Product Review: Asus Eee PC 1000HE

41lpjYxTrRL._AA280_In the gearing up for E3 I have finally got a Eee PC all to myself.  Check the other side for my look at it.

I went with the 10 inch because I wanted the largest screen on the smallest PC I could get.

One nice thing about the 10 inch is the keyboard is able to be larger and feel more standard.

The screen can support 3 resolutions.

  • 800 by 600
  • 1024 by 600
  • 1024 by 768

The 1024 by 768 resolution is scrolling on the machine, meaning that when you move the mouse to the top of the screen or bottom the screen scrolls so you can see whats not showing.

This Eee PC also has 4 short cut keys as follows
1st key: Turns off your screen to save power, any key or touching of the touch pad will re activate the screen
2nd key: Resolution hot swap key, you hit this key to change resolutions so you don’t have to go into the properties to change it
3rd and 4th key: These keys are user set but the defaults are as follows
3rd key: Performance hot key, you can swap between Super, High, Power Saving, and Auto Mode
4th key: Starts Skype up

This does have 10GB of Solid State Drive space on it which the Eee uses to make the different performance modes work.

In my geekness I had to put games on it to see how it worked with the shared video memory.  At the time I have only had time to download and install World of Warcraft on to it.  Obviously this is not a gaming computer so it is not meant for this but WoW ran fairly well.  I would recommend doing anything large scale such as raiding on it but I had no problem logging on and doing some dailys and solo stuff.  From what I hear once I find time to get Guild Wars installed it should run fairly well also.

Here are most of the specs for all you wondering

Height: 1.5 inch
Width: 10.4 inch
Depth: 7.5 inch
Weight: 3.2 lbs.
Processor: Intel Atom 1.6GHz
Screen size: 10 inch
System bus: 533MHz
RAM: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM (Only one RAM slot)
Hard Drive: 160GB
SD Reader: Yes
Graphics: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950, Shared Video Memory
Webcam: built-in 1.3 Mega pixels
Networking: Built-in 10/100 Mbps Ethernet LAN
Wireless B,G,N
USB: Three 2.0 Ports
Operating System: Windows XP Home

For my final thoughts, for all you bloggers and twitter people or anyone that needs soemthing small that can handle almost anything you need to BUY IT.  I love it and am glad I have it for E3.

ASUS Eee PC 1000HE 10-Inch Netbook

2 Comments

  1. I had used ASUS EeePC 4G with MS-windowXP for almost 16 months before I purchased this 1000HE. Now, Windows7 (RC) is running on this 1000HE with 2GB RAM. I really like the display, HDD capacity, battery life, and a keyboard. Since I had read other people’s reviews, I have no trouble or finger prints becaue of leather cover which I bought with 1000HE. This is a great Netbook with all the capacity and features I could want. The reviews told me it was good and they were right. Don’t hesitate to get one.

  2. Suppose that all of us were able to foretell the future with absolute certainty. ,


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

