Game Review: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 (Wii)

tw10I like to play golf. I don’t like to talk about golf at the water cooler, and I don’t like to watch it on TV.

I like to PLAY golf.

The big question is: do I like to play golf on the Wii?

The answer is inside.

Let’s face facts, there really hasn’t been a major leap in Golf games in years.

Last year’s iteration of Tiger Woods on the Wii used motion control, but it was a little… okay, a LOT broken. Swinging the remote didn’t feel at all realistic, and getting an accurate shot was an exercise in futility.

Things have changed with the new version… to a point.

Having tried the game with and without the new MotionPlus add-on, I’m prepared to say that if you just buy the game (without the extra hardware bundled in) you’re going to be sorely disappointed. It is essentially the same game with some minor course additions.

If you already have a MotionPlus, or if you buy TW10 with one bundled in, you’re going to love the game.

Controls range from the oversimplified (and completely unfun) All Play to the wickedly accurate Advanced options. For my money, the Advanced Swing mechanic is the ONLY way to play the game.

Club/wrist rotation during putting is spot on, snapping your wrist at the end of a wedge swing gives the ball extra loft, and amazingly enough, the MotionPlus accurately recreated my persistent slice on drives.

It’s golf without all the walking and fresh air, and I’m okay with that.

Character creation is deep, if a little difficult to master, and the career mode will quickly humble you… but this is all about the controls and the courses. EVERY facet of the game, down to your grip and stance, has an immediate and realistic effect on your shots.

Playing several rounds with the BOMB gang, passing the controller around the room, had everyone convinced that we needed to get together for bi-weekly games.

The sad thing is, they nailed the golf experience so well this time around, I have no idea what they can do to improve the game for next year.

This may actually be the last golf game you will ever purchase.

If this sounds like a bold statement, just know that I see no need to purchase the game on another platform. For the first time since I’ve started reviewing Wii titles, I actually feel that if you don’t pick the game up on Wii, you’re missing out.

It simply doesn’t get any better than this… if you have the MotionPlus add-on.

Matt says BUY IT.

Buy Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 With MotionPlus
Buy Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 (Game Only)
Buy Wii MotionPlus

2 Comments

  1. Nice review Matt.. I think I will pick up the motion controller plus version of this.. although that wrist snap worries me..

  2. I couldn’t agree more, I played three holes at Matt’s house and now I have to pick it up… very fun


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

