Game Review: Halo 3 ODST

ODST_chars_1600_1200I know the game has been out for a while already but Halo 3 ODST has finally made it into my 360.  Did this game live up to the other 3 Halo games?  Or does it drop on its own face?  Check the other side to find out.

I was very worried about this game when it was first announced.  I give credit to Bungie to not make a bad game, but this I thought was stretching it.  But I also had to know where they were going with the story cause I am a junkie when it comes to the Halo story line.

Also once I found out that Nathan Fillion, Adam Baldwin, and Alan Yudyk were doing the voices of three of the main characters that are in your squad through the game I jumped at the idea of supporting the Firefly cast.ODST_OniAlphaSite02

So getting to the game.  You are a member of a ODST (Orbital Drop Shock Troop) squad that is about to drop into New Mombasa, the same city from Halo 2 and 3. This part of the Halo story is taking place while Master chief is off somewhere else during Halo 3.

As you are doing your drop something goes wrong and everyone gets off course and split up.  You wake up in your drop pod 6 hours after the drop not knowing where any of your team are.  So you are all alone at night in New Mombasa after it has been over run by the Covenant.  Right off the bat the music in the game got me totally involved, everything about the music was perfect for the situation that you are in and made the ambiance amazing.

As you run around the city looking for your team you end up finding objects from your team.  When you find those objects you switch over to a new level / time and play through what the team member did to get to the point where you found that object.

I really liked the way this system worked, because it changed up the game style and environments very often and the game didn’t get very monotonous.ODST_NMPDHQ-04

Graphically the game didn’t surprise me or let me down, it was what I expected from a game running on a Xbox 360.

One thing that was added into this game is the VISR enhanced vision mode.  So in the dark areas it lightens the area and puts what looks like a neon light around all objects and people in the game.  Green light for friendly, red for enemy, blue for weapons and usable vehicles, and a yellow / brown for buildings and cars.

This makes the dark levels really easy to get through because you can see what you are doing and you have some warning when there are enemy’s in your path.  In the day time levels this can be a burden, it will blow out the light and all you will see is a nasty white screen so don’t use it in the day levels.

For all you Halo fans out there this is a must
For anyone that wants a good FPS on the 360 this is a must
If you don’t want a good gaming experience then you might want to skip this one
I guess I am saying BUY IT!
Halo 3 ODST
Halo 3: ODST Collector Pack
Halo 3 ODST: Prima Official Game Guide

1 Comment

  1. nice post.. I think I’m addicted to halo, such a good game..


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

