Game Review: Brutal Legend

256px-BrutalLegendCover

The game we have all been waiting for Brutal Legend is now available for PS3 and X-box 360.  conceived by Tim Schafer and brought to life by EA and Double Fine you will be taken into a universe inspired by heavy metal. With names like Ozzy Osbourne, Rob Halford, Lemmy Kilmister, Lita Ford and of course Jack Black this title has threatened to be a head banging good time.  Did it live up to all the hype?  Find out what I thought of the game on the other side.

 

When roadie Eddie Riggs is injured in a heroic act in the line of duty he gets transported to a world of Heavy Metal.  A world where the landscape is reminiscent of all the metal albums we owned as teenagers and the head bangers have all been taken captive and turned into slaves.  Armed with his guitar, an axe, and a hot rod Eddie must use his talents to free the people and defeat the evil that has captured the land.

Eddies guitar Clementine is more than just a cool flying V, in this world it is his primary weapon. He must learn new riffs to recruit the slaves to his cause, uncover ancient relics, call forth his hot rod, inspire the troops and of course defeat evil. Once you have chosen the riff you play along by pressing the corresponding buttons much like other music games. The riffs are short but get more difficult as you go and if you fail you must wait for your guitar to cool off before you can choose the riff and try again.

There are a few things I didn’t like about this game. For instance I have notice that the camera view tends to move in ways that get you turned around so I have to use the map feature often to make sure I am still moving in the right direction. I also had some issues with the way that Eddie flys. Yes you get to fly as Eddie Riggs. I won’t spoil the why or the how but I found it difficult to adjust the height at which Eddie is flying. This makes it difficult to line up properly to access the turrets on the stage quickly in a battle situation.

I loved the music selection in the game.  With songs from such artists as Judas Priest, Metalica, 3 Inches of Blood, and Quiet Riot just to name a few I took a walk down memory lane and heard some stuff I managed to miss along the way as well.  I didn’t like the fact that the music stops when you have dialog or interaction (which is fine) but it begins to play a new song when your finished and I found myself wishing they would just finish the song I had interrupted. With more than a hundred titles who knows when they will come back up again. (If you like the song thats playing just drive around until its over)

I also had a problem when I first put the game in the machine at home. I had audio but absolutely no visual. I had to hard boot my system twice before I figured out what the problem was. That didn’t make me happy.

I am playing this game on the 80 gig non-backward compatible PS3. The box says it will run in 720p, 1080i, and 1080p, however it also says that to run in 1080p an HDMI cable with an HDCP capable television. Since my television only supports 1080i, and uses an HDMI to DVI converter, it won’t do an HDCP handshake. In English? Although the game runs natively in 720p, on my home television I can only play it in 480p.

In case you didn’t know, HDCP stands for High Definition Copy Protection. Yep, because somebody is afraid I’ll make videos of the game, I can’t play it in HD. Thanks a bunch.

At least I got to play it in HD at the studio.

I had a few things popping up out of nowhere but never while I was on foot. This only happened to me while I was in the hot rod so I just ran them over and no harm done.

Problems aside I am enjoying the game. It manuevers similarly enough to other games that it is comfortable and easy to use. It is different enough from other games to keep me entertained. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend that you play through it, just be forwarned about the resolution issues so your not caught unaware and disappointed and you’ll have a great time. I mean Eddie Riggs is just one cool dude.

You can get your copy here…
Brutal Legend PS3

Brutal Legend Xbox 360

Or just check out the Art of Brutal Legend

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

