Game Review: Chronicles of Riddick – Assault on Dark Athena

Riddick Escape from Dark Athena…
For the PS3 you are getting two games for the price of one.  I was led to believe that this was an just an add-on to the first game (Escape from Butcher Bay), but it has to much in it to be considered just an add-on.It is a direct continuation of the previous game, so you may want to play through that first so that you are up to speed on the story but don’t expect to zip through it.
You will move smoothly from the first game into this one. They kept the controls the same and you begin with the eye shine you gain in the first game.
Some of the elements of this game are very cool. You are Riddick. You have been loaded on to a space ship that you have no intention of staying on and you are a complete bad ass. While the game is more brutal than the first and has more gratuitous language there are parts of the game where it is deffinately to your advantage to sneak around (rather than charging in balls to the wall blasting everything in site as I am often wont to do)and at the same time there is an awful lot of this to be going on with as well.
In the second game you find BOUNTY CARDS instead of ciggarette packs but they amount to the same thing. They unlock content, artwork and the like.
They lost me for a little while when the obviously fatal wound I inflicted on my oponant was not so fatal… but when you see her again you realize that they accually have story to match and that makes enough sence for it to be okay.
The only thing that really pissed me off about the game is that in the end chapters of the game I walk into an area and the door locks, I fight some bad guys, and the next door locks. This is not the bad part, the bad part is where it is ovious where I need to be it is really hard to figure out how to get there. No not hard once I knew what I was looking at, misleading.
I personnally am not afraid of hard, but the thing I thought at first was a “switch” seemed to me to be a hatch to access the air vents… this was not the case.
What looked to be a hatch far up on the wall with a ladder leading up to another hatch on the wall was in fact two switches that needed to be triggered at the same time to drop the ladder. Not only had I never had to trigger two at once before, but I spent a lot of time trying to find the hatch that was going to come out up there.
Shame on you guys…if you want to put a really hard logic puzzle in or make something a really complicated hand-eye co-ordination ploblem GREAT! It is however, dirty pool to lead me through the whole game giving me the skills to fight off the “BIG BOSS” and then leave me with the wrong impression of what I was accually supose to be doing.
After spending much time in this area, redoing it after killing myself to make sure I had not missed something in the previous area, I had someone else try. Low and behold they also were unable to figure this out because I was telling them that the SWITCHES were HATCHES making it impossible for them to figure out what to do either.
Yes I am a girl, but I game and I take my games seriously. I have considered it a point of pride for many years that I don’t cheat until I have seen the end of the game on honest terms. I haven’t HAD to look something up in a game guide since very shortly after I bought my PS1 and I bought that at launch…so thanks guys (dripping sarcasm) you have managed to destroy a 14 year streak.
So did I enjoy the game…Yes. Would I suggest you play the game…Yes. Would I tell you to look up the answer to this level…no.  I will tell you right now that they are switches not hatches and you have to trigger them both at the same time. Now no one else has be subjected to this defeat.
There now I feel better, feel free to enjoy this game with out the most frustrating part to hinder you.
If you are a huge fan of Riddick BUY IT if you aren’t well RENT IT and see if you like it first, I still enjoyed the rest of the game.

riddickboxFor the PS3 you are getting two games for the price of one.  I was led to believe that this was an just an add-on to the first game (Escape from Butcher Bay), but it has too much in it to be considered just an add-on.

It is a direct continuation of the previous game, so you may want to play through that first, so you are up to speed on the story. Jut don’t expect to zip through it.

You will move smoothly from the first game into this one. They kept the controls the same and you begin with the eye shine you gain in the first game.

Some of the elements of this game are very cool. You are Riddick. You have been loaded onto a space ship, which you have no intention of staying on, and you are a complete badass. While the game is more brutal than the first and has more gratuitous language, there are parts of the game where it is definitely to your advantage to sneak around rather than charging in balls to the wall blasting everything in sight as I am often wont to do.

In the second game you find BOUNTY CARDS instead of cigarette packs but they amount to the same thing. They unlock content, artwork and the like.

They lost me for a little while when the obviously fatal wound I inflicted on my opponent was not so fatal… but when you see her again you realize that they actually have story to match and that makes enough sense for it to be okay.

The only thing that really pissed me off about the game is that in the end chapters of the game I walked into an area and the door locks. I fight some bad guys, and the next door locks. This is not the bad part. The bad part is where it is obvious where I need to be, but it is really hard to figure out how to get there.

Not hard once I knew what I was looking at, but misleading.

I personally am not afraid of a difficult game, but the thing I thought at first seemed to be a hatch to access the air vents… this was not the case.

What looked to be a hatch far up on the wall, with a ladder leading up to another hatch on the wall was in fact two switches that needed to be triggered at the same time to drop the ladder. Not only had I never had to trigger two at once before, but I spent a lot of time trying to find the hatch that was going to come out up there.

They changed the play mechanics and the visual cues for items in ONE PLACE in the game, leaving me trapped until I figured out what they had intended.

Shame on you guys…if you want to put a really hard logic puzzle in or make a really complicated hand-eye co-ordination problem, GREAT! It is however, dirty pool to lead me through the whole game giving me the skills to fight off the “BIG BOSS” and then leave me with the wrong impression of what I was actually supposed to be doing.

After spending much time in this area, redoing it after killing myself to make sure I had not missed something in the previous area, I had someone else try. Low and behold they also were unable to figure this out because I was telling them that the SWITCHES were HATCHES making it impossible for them to figure out what to do either.

riddickrating

Yes, I am a girl, but I game and I take my games seriously. I have considered it a point of pride for many years that I don’t cheat until I have seen the end of the game on honest terms. I haven’t HAD to look something up in a game guide since very shortly after I bought my PS1 at launch…so thanks guys (dripping sarcasm) you have managed to destroy a 14 year streak.

Did I enjoy the game? Yes.

Would I suggest you play the game? Yes.

Would I tell you to look up the answer to this level…no.  I will tell you right now that there are switches that look like hatches and you have to trigger them both at the same time. When you get stuck, you’ll know what I’m talking about. Now no one else has be subjected to this defeat.

There, now I feel better. Feel free to enjoy this game without the most frustrating part to hinder you.

If you are a huge fan of Riddick BUY IT if you aren’t, RENT IT and see if you like it first.

I still enjoyed the rest of the game.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=FFFFFF&IS2=1&npa=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=FF0000&t=bomblee-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&m=amazon&f=ifr&asins=B001L1AJ80

1 Comment

  1. I wish I would have found your website a long time ago. I found you on Bing. Thanks for the great post!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

